A Side of Rice

Hopefully Humorous (and sometimes R-rated) Musings About Life

A Banner First Week

Leave a comment

It’s always exciting to start a new job. You’ve got the thrill of decorating your new office, the fun of figuring out who has snack duty for the weekly staff meeting, and the joy of determining how long it has been since the condiments have been cleaned out of the frig. Oh yeah…..and then there’s the actual work.

I’m pleased to report that upon returning to the workforce after my 4 month job hiatus, I have accomplished the following in less than three days:

  • won over the staff with a batch of homemade chocolate gooey butter cookies.
  • figured out who in the office is the biggest bacon lover.
  • set up favorite links on my web browser for Google, yahoo mail, LinkedIn, facebook, bitly and my blog. Oh yes, and my new organization’s homepage.
  • left my lunch at home just once.
  • gotten right back into my working-outside-the-home rhythm by only hitting the snooze bar a maximum of 2 times when the alarm goes off at 4:30am.
  • figured out where and when to cross over the mean streets/intersections in our Nation’s Capital, to mimimize time on the three block walk to the Metro each evening.
  • managed to get out of Back to School Night by agreeing to attend a budget meeting that starts at 5:00pm. Even though the alternative was a 8:30am meeting. Trust me when I tell you there will be plenty of opportunities later in the school year for the teachers to tell me how lousy my parenting has been.
  • made sightings of the resident nose picker, atomic underwear de-wedgier and nail filer/polisher of the year in the suite of office windows across the courtyard.
  • forgotten the key to the office suite on my second day.
  • finished up the Keith Richards autobiography Life, while sitting on the floor of the hallway outside the office suite as I waited for someone less key-challenged than myself to arrive at work.
  • felt all warm and fuzzy, when this banner — hung in my new office — greeted me on my first day…
  • Advertisements

    Author: A Side of Rice

    Married, mom, marketing professional. Loves swearing, pedicures and celebrity meltdowns. Hates making dinner and working the little league concession stand.

Leave a Reply

